Advisory Board

advisory5Eurasylum’s activities benefit occasionally from advice and inputs by reputable external experts in the fields of immigration and asylum policy worldwide. Eurasylum’s International Advisory Board currently includes:

    +Geoffrey Care (Chair)
    Founder and first President of the International Association of Refugee Law Judges (IARLJ); former Chairman of the United Kingdom’s Immigration Appeal Tribunal

    +Prof Baha Abu-Laban
    Professor Emeritus of Sociology at the University of Alberta

    +Dr Jacques Attali
    President of Planet Finance (Paris); former President of the EBRD (European Bank for Reconstruction and Development); former Special Adviser to French President François Mitterrand

    +Dr Ulrike Brandl
    Department of International Law and International Organisations, University of Salzburg

    +Dr Carla Collicelli
    Deputy-Director, CENSIS Foundation (Rome)

    +Jacques Delors
    Former President of the European Commission; former French Minister of Economy and Finance

    +Prof Cristina J. Gortazar
    Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Law, Universidad Pontifica Comillas of Madrid

    +Ambassador Anita Gradin
    Former EU Commissioner for Justice and Home Affairs (1994-1999); former Swedish Minister of Immigration

    +Pierre Henry
    Director-General of France Terre d’Asile (Paris)

    +Prof Charles B. Keely
    Professor Emeritus, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University (Washington)

    +Dr Frank Laczko
    Director of the IOM Global Migration Data Analysis Centre (Berlin)

    +Prof Rainer Munz
    Member of the EU Reflection Group

    +Prof Bruno Nascimbene
    Director of the Institute of International Law, University of Milan

    +Prof Marek Okolski
    Director of the Centre for Migration Research, and Chair of the Department of Demography, Warsaw University

    +Dr Demetrios Papademetriou
    President of the Migration Policy Institute (Washington);
    former Director for Immigration Policy and Research at the U.S. Department of Labor;
    former Chair of the Migration Committee of the OECD

    +Dr Nicholas Sitaropoulos
    Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights, Council of Europe, Strasbourg

    +Prof Constança Urbano de Sousa
    Professor and Director of the Research Law Centre of the Autonomous University of Lisbon

    +Prof Dirk Vanheule
    Professor at the Faculty of Law, University of Antwerp (UFSIA)

    +Dr Catherine Wihtol de Wenden
    Research Director at CNRS-CERI (French National Scientific Research Centre, Paris);
    President of the Research Committee on Sociology of Migration of the International Sociological Association